Next target 2024 elections, says Jagan

After registering a landslide victory in the Andhra Pradesh assembly elections, YSR Congress party president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy set his eyes on 2024 elections in the state.

On Saturday, Jagan was unanimously elected as YSR Congress Legislature Party leader at its meeting held at the party’s headquarters in Tadepalli.

Former minister and MLA Botsa Satyanarayana proposed the name of Jagan as the YSRCLP leader, paving way for his swearing-in as the new chief minister of Andhra Pradesh.

Several other senior MLAs including Dharmana Prasada Rao, Rajanna Dora, Buggana Rajendranath Reddy, Adimulapu Suresh, K Parthasarathi, Mustafa, R K Roja, Alla Nani, Kona Raghupathi, P Vishwaroop and others supported the resolution.

After the meeting, Jagan will fly to Hyderabad and driver straight to Raj Bhavan to meet Governor E S L Narasimhan to hand over the resolution to him and get a formal invitation from him to form the new government.

Addressing the YSRCLP, Jagan said the hard work done by the party leaders, workers and his supporters paid rich dividends and with the support of the people and the blessings of Almighty, the YSRC could record an astounding victory.

“Our aim for 2019 has been achieved. Now, our target is 2024. Let us make a beginning to achieve the target from now itself and see that we shall get much bigger verdict in the next elections,” he said.

Jagan pointed out that the elections had proved that the god would not forgive those who indulged in irregularities and corruption.

“The god’s verdict was witnessed from the way the TDP, which had poached 23 of party MLAs, ended up with just 23 MLAs,” he said.