AP To Revive 6 Co-Op Sugar Factories

The four-month old Jaganmohan Reddy government is rolling out schemes one after the other. This time, the initiative is for revival of six cooperative sugar factories in Chittoor, Kadapa, Guntur and East Godavari districts. 

The government had already allocated Rs 100 crore for this in the 2019-20 budget.

A technical committee was constituted earlier to study the present position of the sugar factories and their plant and machine conditions. 

Based on the recommendations of this technical committee, the government on Tuesday formed a three-member expert committee to study and make recommendations for the revival of the factories. 

The six factories proposed for revival are, The Chittoor Cooperative Sugars Ltd at Chittoor and Sri Venkateswara Cooperative Sugar Factory Ltd, at Renigunta also in Chittoor, The Cuddapah Cooperative Sugars Ltd at Chennur in Kadapa, The Kovuru Cooperative Sugars Ltd at Kovuru in West Godavari, The Nannapaneni Venkata Rao Cooperative Sugars Ltd at Vemuru in Guntur and The Anakapalle V V Ramana Cooperative Sugars Ltd at Anakapalle in East Godavari district. 

The experts, B Guruva Reddy, expert in agriculture and rural management, Y V Chowdary, expert in value engineering and international exposure and Gopala Krishna, expert in cooperative sugars engineering, were given two months to make recommendations for revival, restructuring, replacement of machines, man power and sugar cane production. 

The government issued orders directing the director of sugar and cane commissioner to assist the expert committee for the field visit and preparation of report.