Jagan Has 4 New MLCs To Add To His Team, TDP Losing 10

Chief Minister Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy has some reasons to have last laugh at his rivals – both in politics and in media.

His party is set to capture majority in the Legislative Council in the next two months, while the TDP’s strength is set to fall. 

The party would have three seats to be vacated by the TDP in the Governor’s quota. Besides retaining its one seat, the YSR Congress will wrest all the three TDP seats this time.

The file is already pending with the Raj Bhavan for the Governor’s signature. Names of Moshen Raju, Lella Appi Reddy, R V Ramesh Yadav and Thota Trimurthulu, were recommended by the chief minister to fill the four vacancies.

The TDP is losing its senior leaders T D Janardhan and Beeda Ravichandra, besides Gowrivari Sreenivasulu in the Council. 

The TDP is also set to seven of its MLCs elected in the local bodies quota reitiring on June 18. Prominent among them, Y V B Rajendra Prasad, Budda Venkanna, Council vice-chairman Reddy Subrahmanyam. 

Council chairman M A Shariff had already vacated his seat in May following end of his term, while the vice-chairman is retiring this month. 

As the TDP has no chances of winning any of these seats, they all go into Jagan’s armour, giving him clear chance to have his men as chairman and vice-chairman of the Legislative Council.

Show comments