Four capital cities for AP, but not Amaravathi: BJP MP

BJP Rajya Sabha member TG Venkatesh, who recently defected from TDP to BJP, has revealed a 'top secret' on the capital city of Andhra Pradesh.

Speaking to media on Sunday, he said BJP high command (read PM Modi and Amit Shah) and AP CM YS Jaganmohan Reddy have taken a 'collective decision' to shift AP capital city from Amaravathi and form four new capital cities for AP in its place.

Venkatesh disclosed that AP's four new capital cities will come up at Vijayanagaram, Kakinada, Guntur and Kadapa.

Venkatesh claimed that the BJP high command itself had revealed this ' top secret' to him on AP's capital city and it is bound to happen 'very very soon'.

Venkatesh said the decision to form four new capital cities was taken as the BJP and YSRCP governments at the Centre and State does not want to adopt "Hyderabad model" of centralised capital but want to adopt "decentralised model" of having four capitals in four different regions of AP.

He said this is to ensure that AP achieves balanced and inclusive growht of all regions, instead of a single region.

Venkatesh said Jagan will soon announce scrapping of Amaravathi capital city and announce four new capital cities for AP.